Sweet Release

I awoke this morning singing what I had least expected. It is typical for me, when hearing a song just before bed, to awake singing that very song. Instead, I find myself singing what I refer to as my sweet release song. I have asked God for the past year to awake me each morning with a song in my heart. The songs have come, though not always making sense to me now, rather odd songs that later reveal why I had them in my heart. Yet other mornings, the songs are merely worship reminding me that I have been called to praise my ever loving, every present, all powerful, unfailing master.

A couple of weeks ago I received such a blessing. Unbeknownst to me, though God was well aware, I found that I was in need of this particular blessing. It is just like Him to put the finishing touches on things as only He can, knowing things that we do not. The blessing has brought healing, completeness, wholeness – it was a sweet release moment. In the midst of my ‘meltdown’ last night, I felt as though Satan was trying to rob me of that which I had received. I went to bed last night, as I said previously, relinquishing all to Him, and awoke this morning knowing that Satan is a liar and that Jesus alone had already won the battle, victory is mine for the taking!

My sweet release song is my song of the day, the song in my heart. There are no other words for me to express than what has already been sung. My prayer this morning for you is that you too will rejoice with me, that you will find sweet release in the power of worship and the realization that you are never alone – that you too can have your cup overflowing with exceedingly abundant joy!

“Who are we that you would be mindful of us? What do you see, that’s worth looking our way? We are free, in ways that we never should be. Sweet release, from the grip of these chains. Like hinges straining from the weight, my heart no longer can keep from singing.

All that is within me cries, for you alone be glorified. Emmanuel, God with us. My heart sings a brand new song, the debt is paid, these chains are gone. Emmanuel, God with us.

Lord you know, our hearts don’t deserve your glory. Still you show a love we cannot afford. Like hinges straining from the weight, my heart no longer can keep from singing.

All that is within me cries, for you alone be glorified. Emmanuel, God with us. My heart sings a brand new song, the debt is paid, these chains are gone. Emmanuel, God with us.

Such a tiny offering, compared to Calvary. Nevertheless, we lay it at your feet! Such a tiny offering, compared to Calvary. Nevertheless, we lay it at your feet.

All that is within me cries, for you alone be glorified. Emmanuel, God with us! My heart sings a brand new song, the debt is paid, these chains are gone! Emmanuel, God with us!”

Song Words by Artist / Band : MercyMe
Lyrics Title : God With Us
Taken from Album : All That Is Within Me
Single Released : 9 October 2007

5 thoughts on “Sweet Release

  1. That is amazing. I have always seen God work through music and it is always a strange and unexpected blessing. This is a great tale of God giving peace when we think we will never find it. Praise God!

  2. Eavn, I cannot begin to explain the power of music and how God uses it in my life. I could give you a song for every experience in my life – retracing my steps through the course of history. Music has been the free expression of all that is beautiful, meaningful, and deeply felt. It all too often has been the navigational chart I use, listening for Him to speak to me through others words and guide my path, taking me on my new journey. I’m always listening for Him, talking to Him – He speaks, whether through words, scriptures, creation or music, He is always looking to be in constant communication with us!

    Thank you so much for your comment! I’m so glad that you enjoyed it!

    PJ

  3. “All that is within me cries for you to be glorified.” That is so, so beautiful; although, I’m not sure at this point what it fully means. But, it captured me.

    Penny, I really love the way you talk; you seem so spiritually flawless. I’m curious: were you always this way, or is this a new way of life for you? i.e, were you this way in your marriage, or did you find God after your marriage?

    I guess it’s difficult for me to believe people start out being this centered on God, but I guess it’s possible….I would love to hear about it.

    • Oh Kelly, thank you for such praise, I am both honored and humbled and far from flawless – so very far.

      There was a time, around the age of 16, that I was so tuned into what God is, was, and wanted/s for me but as years went on, the zeal faded as the calamities of life hit one after another. I found it again about 2 years prior to my divorce and then the divorce came and all longing was blown away with the wind. My fervor and passion has recently returned in the last 18 months and thank you God for showing such mercy and grace on this sinner. Though the longing in my heart had always been, only I could bring it forth. God so graciously give us free will, which is all too often a blessing and a curse. Nevertheless, we live, we learn, and move on in life – taking with us life experiences, knowledge, growth, and a new perspective.

      No one starts out this way, ever. We were all born human – a newborn doesn’t start out walking or going to the toilet on its own, these things must be learned. So it is with us, we have to be the ones to determine if we want to go to the next level, trod the journey, walk through the door, enjoy the new season – I will never be flawless which means there is always more for me to learn, always.

      I look forward to hearing from you again on other blogs. Thank you for visiting me, you will see my flaws as you continue reading. {wink}

Leave a Reply

