There Will Be A Day

“I try to hold on to this world with everything I have. But I feel the weight of what it brings and the hurt that tries to grab. The many trials that seem to never end, His word declares this truth. That we will enter in this rest with wonders a new. But I hold on to this hope and the promise that He brings, that there will be a place with no more suffering. I know the journey seems so long. You feel you’re walking on your own. But there has never been a step where you’ve walked out all alone. Troubled soul don’t lose your heart ‘cause joy and peace He brings. And the beauty that’s in store outweighs the hurt of life’s sting. I can’t wait until that day where the very one I’ve lived for always will wipe away the sorrow that I’ve face. To touch the scars that rescued me from a life of shame and misery. This is why I sing. There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, no more fears. There will be a day when the burdens of this place, will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face to face. But until that day, we’ll hold on to you, always.”

Song Lyrics by Jeremy Camp

There are no words to express the surge of emotions that one feels when the death of a loved one – family member, friend, neighbor, acquaintance occurs. We walk through all the stages – denial and shock, pain and guilt, anger and bargaining, depression and loneliness, the upward turn, reconstruction and processing, and finally, acceptance and hope. Depending upon the closeness of the relationship some take years to walk through these stages and others months, weeks, and merely days.

When walking this valley, whether it is directly affecting you or whether it is a friend of a friend, there is a sense of helplessness that emerges. I would like to believe that is why in Psalms David said, “though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil. For your rod and your staff they comfort me.” There is sweet comfort found in the arms of our Lord. Though family and friends and church family are there as you call, the immediate readiness of calling on our Lord as He stands beside us, holding our hand, carrying us, rocking us, being our strength, being our survival – it is indeed priceless and irreplaceable.

My neighbors’ wife died today. She died from falling on ice-covered steps, leaving a husband and two small children behind. I cannot fathom the heartache, the pain, the grief that they will, as a family and as individuals, walk through. I watched and wept as a seven-year-old little girl was told that her mommy had gone to be with Jesus. I have no words to express the sadness that I felt within my own being, let alone the sadness that came pouring out of that little blue eyed, carrot top, princess. I can say this with great belief and hope, I serve a God that in the face of our utmost grief, He still moves, restores, heals – He is our hope, our comfort, our peace! I believe that this little princess will rise from the ashes with great beauty and great hope!

I am reminded to be thankful for the blessings in my life – my mother is still with me – I too am still a mother. I am certain this little princess will find herself whispering in her heart, “I wish you were here” on several occasions. There will be many ‘firsts’ as she has her whole life ahead of her. Again, I have no words to express such sadness nor do I know how to provide help when I feel so helpless. However, I do know the One who holds my hand – the One that will never leave me nor forsake me. He is my source of strength.

I would like to believe that her mother is saying these words to her:

“Don’t you be weary cause waiting for you are wonders that you’ve never known. Just hold on to Jesus, reach out for His hands and one day they will welcome you home. And all the dreams that you treasure will soon come together, and that’s when your sorrow will find tomorrow and you will rise again! Don’t cry for me.” 

Words taken from the song: I Wish You Were Here by Mark Harris

2 thoughts on “There Will Be A Day

  1. This is such a sad and difficult situation – to lose a loved one so suddenly and in such an unlikely way. It makes us stop and realize the precious lives around us and not take them for granted. It sounds like you were a true friend to this family during their time of crisis. They are so blessed to have you as a support and friend. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

  2. Of course there’s a special place in my heart for little girls, as I’m the father of one. But, I can’t imagine the value a mother holds for her daughter and how much she will miss and be missed.

    Where you wrote about the carrot top princess, choked me up, and this is the third time I’ve read this; just haven’t had a chance to comment.

    Beautiful heartfelt words from a tragic situation.

Leave a Reply

