Update on My Life

In February of ’08 I was let go with a company I had been with for 5 years. Being unemployed for three and a half months, I found myself in complete reliance on God. Not only did He provide, He too brought me peace that surpasses all understanding. I took a job with a small, home based company as I felt that this is where God was leading. My entire time there, I felt that it was a very short stay and that when it was over I would be leaving the medical field after 14 years. It wasn’t something that I was wanting, to leave the medical field, as I had always dreamt of becoming a top Administrative in a medical facility since the first day I entered into this field. However, during this last job I believed He was telling me that this was my time. Time for what, I was unsure – not knowing where to go from the medical field, how would I support my two children as a single mom if I didn’t stay with what I knew, where the questions I was asking myself. 

Since then, the company I went to work with has closed it doors and left me without a job again. During this time of unemployment I have been struggling within, attempting to decipher where to go and what to do from here, what it is exactly that God has planned for my destiny. There have been a few times where I have felt anxious but again, God has provided and given me great peace. There have been things floating through my head, ideas and dreams, but the desire to remain in the medical field is not there. As a matter of fact, while sending out countless resumes and hearing nothing from any, I’ve found it to be merely a confirmation that this is where I am not to be, in a career field. 

I ventured off to Virginia Beach last week with some friends, beloved friends. During that time, each morning I would get up and spend time in prayer with God, either on the beach or on our patio. There was not one morning that I didn’t find myself in tears as God gave me scriptures telling me: ‘call to me and I will answer you and tell you GREAT and UNSEARCHABLE things you do not know… I have brought you out of this…. I will give you all the prosperity I have promised… I have anointed you to preach the good news… I have called you to bind up the brokenhearted…’ and so many more scriptures. I could not tell you where these scriptures are as I did something that I never do… I prayed and asked God to speak to me through His Word, as I desperately needed to hear from Him, and then let my Bible fall open to wherever it would. I know, so very spiritual of me but I assure you, this is NOT my typically manner in searching to hear from God. 

Most of you know that I write, I love to write. When in school, I would write poetry all the time and even won certificates for things written. I have always secretly wanted to be a well known author though I allowed my struggles in pronunciation and spelling to hinder me from pursuing any such dream. Over the years, I have found myself writing more and more and believing that all things are possible, thus I have been actively pursuing my writing. I’ve also discovered that I love to help people, often in the form of advice. It’s been something that I have had to learn over the past few years, as I wasn’t always the hearing type. Too often I listened but didn’t hear, just wanted the conversation to be over and lets move on with life. I’ve since found myself not only listening to people but hearing them and in doing so I am able to offer a piece of myself to them; either from personal experience, from the scriptures, or things that I’ve seen over the years. I have friends telling me I should become a nurse because of my caring spirit and that I’m good at it. Nursing is not for me, I assure you. Certain sights and smells will have me over the toilet or laying beside it, one. 

All of that to say this, (and then a bit more after this too, ha) I took a class last year called Chase the Lion. I then co-taught the class with another. I have never had such a life changing experience in all my life. I have literally taken all that I’ve learned and have begun applying it to my life. I am positive my friends get tired of hearing some of the same quotes over and over and over and over and over again. Here’s the thing, we all find ourselves in a defining moment whether at a crossroads or a line in the sand. I have spent the last 15 months at the crossroads in my life leading me to this very moment… it was preparation for my line in the sand… it is time for me to CHASE THE LION! 

So, here I sit… a jobless, single mom of two children, informing you that I will be a full-time college student in the Fall. I will work part-time, here and there, wherever God provides (perhaps at the college even). I will be working to obtain my Doctorate in Clinical Counseling as well as a minor in English Composition. (In the mix of those there will also be some Biblical Theology.) I ask that you please pray for me and for my children. This is without a doubt: Taking a Risk, Seizing an Opportunity, Facing some Fears, Reframing some Problems, Embracing some Uncertainties, and Looking Foolish…. though I will continue to go after this dream that is destined to fail without DIVINE intervention! I am CHASING THE LION!!! 

This is my lion, but I dare ask you what is yours? Are you letting life pass you by or are you living life? I know that this was to be information for you but I felt the need to challenge you as well, dream a dream and then go after it with all that is within you and when you cannot go any further allow God to take you the rest of the way! 

I leave you with this… 

“Quit living as if the purpose of life is to arrive safely at death. Set God-sized goals. Pursue God-ordained passions. Go after a dream that is destined to fail without divine intervention. Keep asking questions. Keep making mistakes. Keep seeking God. Stop pointing out problems and become part of the solution. Stop repeating the past and start creating the future. Stop playing it safe and start taking risks. Expand your horizons. Accumulate experiences. Consider the lilies. Enjoy the journey. Find every excuse you can to celebrate everything you can. Live like today is the first day and the last day of your life. Don’t let what’s wrong with you keep you from worshipping what’s right with God. Burn sinful bridges. Blaze a new trail. Criticize by creating. Worry less about what people think and more about what God thinks. Don’t try to be who you’re not. Be yourself. Laugh at yourself. Quit holding out. Quit holding back. Quit running away. Chase the lion!

5 thoughts on “Update on My Life

  1. a big AMEN! I wish you great success in chasing your dreams. God has gifted you well. It is up to you to perfect the gift. No excuses, in fact all excuses are the very reasons too succeed. Doors will open as you run toward your calling. I am excited about your journey, and future! Go get it!

  2. I knew you had been going through a lot, but I don’t think I realized the depth of the situation. Kudos on taking this huge step. No doubt you can do it and do it well. Congratulations. God is with you, indeed!

  3. Pingback: College Acceptance Timeline « Reflections by Pj

  4. Pingback: Orientation « Reflections by Pj

  5. Pingback: One Night Stand or Commitment « Reflections by Pj

Leave a Reply

