Show Me the Money

Last year, around this same time, I had this dream that I lost my teeth. In my dream, the back row of molars came out in my hand, both the top and bottom set. I woke up and was freaked out, literally.

My closest friends know that I have had some dental issues since the arrival of my son and that those issues grow increasingly worse as time goes on – so much so, that I easily have about $8000 dollars worth of dental work that needs to be done. This is a problem for me because my smiles, my teeth, have always been the one and only thing that I’ve liked about myself. Yes, I’m one of those with the low self-esteem issues from years and years of such afflictions “making” me believe such horrific fabrications. (I’ve since learned that “making” is allowed and only allowed by myself – no one “makes” us do, say, or believe anything that we don’t want to – but that’s a subject for another day.)

I of course told one of my closest friends of my dreams. I didn’t tell this friend, necessarily because she’s my closest friend, but because she has the weirdest, most outrageous dreams of anyone that I know and I love trying to interpret them for her. She of course, was ever so enthusiastic by telling me with a laughing, smiling face “Oh that totally means something. You should Google it and find out what.” I found myself amused at the fact that she would tell me to Google a dream about losing my teeth… so nonsensical.

Alas, inquisitiveness got the best of me and my research revealed the following…

One theory is that dreams about your teeth reflect your anxiety about your appearance and how others perceive you. Sadly, we live in a world where good looks are valued highly and your teeth play an important role in conveying that image. Teeth are used in the game of flirtations, whether it be a dazzling and gleaming smile or affectionate necking. These dreams may stem from a fear of your sexual impotence or the consequences of getting old. Teeth are an important feature of our attractiveness and presentation to others. Everybody worries about how they appear to others. Caring about our appearance is natural and healthy.

Ok, so I can buy into this, as I stated, my teeth and smile have always been the one thing that I liked about myself. I can even buy into the comment regarding sexual impotence… gravely, I am a divorced woman and September of 2004 has long come and gone, though the impotence could essentially be well past that – not a subject really for discussion but am willing to own it. On the other hand, I cannot buy into the fact that I’m getting old – seriously, I am only 29!!!

Another rationalization for these falling teeth dream may be rooted in your fear of being embarrassed or making a fool of yourself in some specific situation. These dreams are an over-exaggeration of your worries and anxiety. Teeth are used to bite, tear, chew and gnaw. In this regard, teeth represent power. And the loss of teeth in your dream may be from a sense of powerlessness. Are you lacking power in some current situation? Perhaps you are having difficulties expressing yourself or getting your point across. You feel frustrated when your voice is not being heard. You may be experiencing feelings of inferiority and a lack of self-confidence in some situation or relationship in your life. This dream is an indication that you need to be more assertive and believe in the value of your own opinion.

So I get this, I do… this was about the same time I was teaching the class “Chase the Lion” and we were discussing facing your fears. I did have numerous “lions” that were chasing me, I mean that I was chasing and with such comes adversity and crossroads – so I can even buy into this.

In the latest research, it has been shown that women in menopause have frequent dreams about teeth. This may be related to getting older and/or feeling unattractive and less feminine.

Ok, did I just not say that I’m NOT old, for the love of Pete – whoever Pete is – 29 is NOT old and I am hot (or so I tell myself)!

A scriptural interpretation for bad or falling teeth indicate that you are putting your faith, trust, and beliefs in what man thinks rather than in the word of God. The bible says that God speaks once, yea twice in a dream or a vision in order to hide pride from us, to keep us back from the pit, to open our ears (spiritually) and to instruct and correct us.

Ok, so I can even buy into this – it does seem rather germane and equivalent to my life – seeking Him, praying to Him – asking for a new vision, a new perspective, a change – looking to pick up the change in my life, both literally and figuratively.

This alas brings me to my last and favorite theory of all…

It has also been said that if you dream of your teeth falling out, then it symbolizes money. This is based on the old tooth fairy story. If you lose a tooth and leave it under the pillow, a tooth fairy would bring you money.

In which case, I could be wealthy very soon and I certainly have no complaints with such. It could inevitably pay for all my dental work and possibly still leave me sitting comfortably happy. In which case, I could adjust to being toothless for a moment in time… possibly – it could happen.

Thus my research leaves me feeling that interpretation of dreams are funny, soul searching, and even ridiculously incorrect. Nevertheless I say, come on tooth fairy – show me the money!

2 thoughts on “Show Me the Money

  1. One time I had a dream that I rubbed greasy fried chicken on my face. I don’t think that’s one that can be googled! It was the grossest dream I’ve ever had. Of course, if I dreamed that I lost all my teeth, I’d be totally freaking out!

Leave a Reply

