Love… your choice

Those that know me best can attest to my deep passion of truth. The burning within of living life to its fullest and above all, being who you say you are. The walking on of eggshells, the pretending to be or not to be, the game playing – either hatch or rot somewhere else, your choice…

Your choice. Two powerful words that so few are able to comprehend. Perhaps comprehend is the incorrect word, more like grasp. {Grasp: (noun) ones power of seizing and holding; embracing; power to understand. (verb) to attempt to seize}

It has been said that we are to imitate the Father. As children, we take on the role of little monkeys, “monkey see, monkey do”. Is it not the same with us as believers, followers, of Christ? In John 5 it states, “…the son can do nothing of himself, but what he sees the Father do; for whatever he does, the son also does in like manner…” It goes on to say in John 14, “…if you love me you will keep my commandments…”. In addition, in Matthew Jesus tells us, “…Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and the greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the law hang on these two commandments.” In other words, these two commandments are the hinges that the door hangs on, without the hinges the door would have nothing to hang itself on… without the love for the Father and the love for others, we are nothing more than a non-functional door.

If we as ‘imitators’ of Christ, of our Father, cannot reflect love for our God, for others, for ourselves even, then how in the world can we profess to be who we say we are; followers of Christ. If we cannot act on our faith, live and walk and breathe in our beliefs, then how can we have a love relationship with our Father, let alone others?

Oh this just burns in me, the desire for all to grasp it and live it! There are times when in conversation with one that is not grasping the concept of love that I want to slap them in hopes that they turn the other cheek just so I can slap them again to make sure they GRASP it – nothing like a visual, hands on lesson. Ha! (Ok, so I am human too and true, this is not a reflection of love but seriously, HELLO!!!) Deuteronomy 30 tells us, “…I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life… that you may love the Lord your God… hold fast to him… for the Lord is your life…”.

I have found myself slipping away from my own burning desire the past few months, not in all areas of my life, simply with one particular person. The self-centeredness, the controlling and manipulative behavior, the back stabbing, the lack of ownership and responsibility in any part of any thing, the lies, the deceit, the jealousy, and on and on and on… I am done! DONE! Yes, my new motto this past month or so with this person is “I’m done!” There is only so much that one can tolerate. There are consequences to ones actions. Yep, I’m done! D-O-N-E! Wow! Can you imagine if the Father looked at me and said, “I’m done!” All of your selfishness, your lack of faith, your hardened heart toward others (ouch)… all the wrongs you have committed I can no longer tolerate, I’m done.

I heard a preacher speak from James 2 last night and this is what he read; “…as believers (followers) in our Lord Jesus Christ, do not show favoritism… if you really keep the royal law found in scripture, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’, you are doing right. But if you show favoritism, you sin and are lawbreakers (evil)… mercy triumphs over judgment!” It is not that I am showing favoritism to others over this person; it is that I am not showing this person mercy. John 8 states, “…if any one of you be without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone…” Do not misunderstand me; there are consequences to our actions, even after we are long absent. Nevertheless, this certainly does not entitle me to be done with one. I am not sinless. It is daily that I must pick up my cross and follow, imitate, the Father. If I am who I say that I am – if I am acting on my words and not merely speaking the words, then how can I be done? Thus, I picked up the phone tonight and showed love. And after that forty-five minute conversation I read these words; “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast. It is not proud, it is not rude. It is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered. It keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always preserves. Love never fails” (1Cor.)

One of my favorite passages in scripture (there are many, I assure you) is found in Philippians 3 and 4. It states this; “…I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me…one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me…take note of those who live according to the pattern given you… this is how you should stand firm in the Lord…”

We have a choice, it’s simple… choose life or death, mercy or judgment, love or hate. There will be a cross to carry either way but will you carry it alone or will you allow the one whose love is so great, so merciful, to carry it for you? Your choice. Will you imitate the Father’s love, being the hinges for the door or will you merely be the non-functional door with no purpose in life? Your choice.

“Faith, hope, and love remain but the greatest of these is love.” What will you choose? Your choice.

 

Copyright by reflectionsbypj 2009/06/29

3 thoughts on “Love… your choice

  1. WOW! I had a similar conversation with a friend yesterday about fighting against and for these same sentiments. And had to remind myself also that I cannot just “be done” with anyone for the same reasons you state… Indeed, where would I be if God was ever just “done” with me…

  2. I agree 100% All is true and there really is no “but” to what you wrote. We are to follow the examples of Jesus. He taught us how to live this life well by living it in front of us. Jesus sent some away after He “loved” them. He didn’t give up on them or condemn them, but He did refuse to allow them to remain in His physical company. We are to also guard our hearts. Now, when I find the balance to this, I will let you know 😉

Leave a Reply

