I Run to You

Many songs in my life have come and gone that have resonated deep within my spirit. I am truly a lover of music, all different styles. The intimate feelings that one pours out on paper as they write the lyrics to such songs, whether they be fun or heart wrenching, are still the emotion of ones soul at that point in time. Music has indeed seen me through many phases of my life. I often stand in awe at the talent that God has given to humanity, in so many different ways, especially in the writing of songs. There is not a time in my life that I could not find a song to tell the story for me.

I have been very blessed with many friends in the music industry that have included me in several events. I am not musically talented, vocally that is, but I do have such a love and appreciation for it that I am honored when asked to attend something that perhaps most of the public is unable to attend. March of 2008 I had the opportunity to attend several inside events at the CRS. While there, I was able to hear this new and upcoming group known as “Lady Antebellum”. They put on a great show for us at lunch and we were given a CD that had yet to be released, its scheduled release date was for sometime in April 2008. One of my favorite songs is now one that you hear on the radio all the time, “I Run to You”. This song is an expression against hate, prejudice, negativity but ultimately the redemption of love. It sums up all that I believe and often do myself. Of course, I enjoy changing up the words to suit my heart, for example, where they use the word baby in the song I often replace with the word God. I am guilty of doing this often, especially during worship and the song refers to we, I often replace with I. If a song is anything, it is personal and should be sung from the heart as such. I do not think I can get in any trouble for changing when I sing it this way, whether in my car, in the shower, or wherever.

Allow me to share; in the off chance, you have not heard the song.

“I run from hate. I run from prejudice. I run from pessimists. But I run too late. I run my life or is it running me. I run from my past. I run too fast or too slow it seems. When lies become the truth, that’s when I run to you. We run on fumes, your life and mine, like the sands of time slippin’ right on through. And our love’s the only truth, that’s why I run to you. This world keeps spinning faster, into a new disaster, so I run to you. And when it all starts coming undone, you’re the only one I run to. I run to you.”

How many times in this lifetime have we found ourselves running, often the wrong direction, because of lies. We listen to the inner voice that is all too often our deep inner issues that we are dealing with from past hurts, past situations, merely our past in general. The past is just that, our past. One of my favorite lines is from the movie Lion King when Simba is hit upside the head by the monkey and says, “Hey, what did you do that for?” And the monkey replies, “It doesn’t matter, it’s in the past!” We often find ourselves in this mind game, such as Simba, that we will never be accepted, we will never be forgiven, we will never be loved. I am guilty of all such things, even recently. Those thoughts and fears are nothing more than lies and is not TRUTH.

I love the fact that when the lies appear as truth that I can run to the true voice of truth. No matter what disaster I feel like I have been thrust in the midst of or however fast things seem to be spinning around me, I can always run to Him. He is the only truth, the only love, which I need to run too. Zephaniah 3:17 states, “The Lord your God is with you. He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you. He will rejoice over you with singing. He will quiet you with His love.”

Whom are you running to in this moment? I dare you to push all the negative out of your head, out of your heart, and run to the voice of truth. There you will find that there is more to your life than you ever thought and there is more to your story than you have read.

1 Corinthians 2:9 “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”

When everything is coming undone, run to the voice of truth, He will redeem you with His love.

 

Copyright by Reflectionsbypj 2009/07/15

Artist: Lady Antebellum Words and Lyrics: Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Tom Douglas

One thought on “I Run to You

  1. Thanks for the reminder to listen to the truth, Penny. I’m so glad you have chosen to hear truth and ignore the lies.

Leave a Reply

