Daddy’s Girl

When I was a little girl, my dad filled many roles in my life. He was my protector, my champion, my playmate. He kept me in line with just a look of disapproval, guarded what came into our house and family, and showed me what real love looks like. He taught me that the most important thing in the world was to love God and walk in His ways. He showed me what compassion means, demonstrating a servant spirit by the way he helped anyone and everyone who crossed his path, even if it was inconvenient. He made many sacrifices to provide us what we needed, and often what we wanted, even if it cost him dearly. To this day, I know that he would do anything for me or for my family. He is a beautiful picture of a father’s love.

There is no denying it; I am a daddy’s girl.

My dad is not much of a talker, unless you are a senior citizen. (Those that know me understand this is not a trait I inherited.) I remember wondering what on earth he could talk to them for hours about and being annoyed, as I had to wait on him to shut up. The tapping on the wrist, the waving of a hand, the dreaded cough – something, anything to get his attention, yet always failing. Now older, I appreciate the lesson Dad was teaching me – one of respect for those that have been before us. I now too can sit for hours soaking up all I can from the more ‘seasoned’ patriots that have gone before me, who so graciously offer their wisdom and life experience.

My dad is a helper, as I stated previously, he was always helping those that needed help no matter the inconvenience. I remember him helping me with a school project – I had to build a pyramid for Social Studies class as we were learning about Egypt and Dad being a carpenter was just the person to assist me. He left no detail undone – we had the tomb and the treasures, each item he took the time and devotion as if he were building it for a contractor. Even when I ruined it, by painting it green along with all the tools left in my way he patiently assisted in correcting the errors of my ways. (By the way, I have no clue as to what I was thinking when I painted that pyramid green but my dad still has some of those green tools today – ha.)

There are many things I remember about my dad – he was a farmer, a hunter, a builder, an angler, a mechanic – all of these, at some point, I assisted in. I have learned how to plant a garden and work it knowing I’m going to be covered in dirt and stink like a “man”; shoot a gun and actually hit the target (even if I can’t shut up – hunting usually requires one to be silent, something I have yet to master the art of); hammer a nail without hitting my thumb; put a worm on a hook without screaming like a girl; change a tire and check my oil without freaking out because there is grease under my nails… I have learned how to hit a softball, throw a football, wrestle until the furniture in the house is toppled over, and kick a boys butt.

I was undoubtedly a tomboy however; my dad knew I was a girl. He opened my door for me, took me on dates, spent time with me, instructed me in the ways of the Lord and he reflected these attributes in his family, in his children, in his church, in his neighborhood, and even to strangers. He taught me what a godly man is to look like, act like, and sound like. He was not the perfect father, no earthly father can be. Nevertheless, he gave me instruction through love. I truly was his shadow, always wanting to be part of anything and everything he was doing. Always trying to do what he was doing while looking up expectantly for a word of praise or even a hint of a smile in his eyes, seemingly telling me that yes, he had seen my effort and was proud of me regardless of the outcome.

As a daughter, I am especially grateful for the love of my father, the love that only he can give. The love that always protects, always trusts, always hopes, and always preserves. The love that never fails. No man will ever love me the way he does. In the same way, how great it is to know that I have a Heavenly Father that loves me so much more than my dad. He, too, has sacrificed everything to take care of me, even at the cost of His beloved Son, Jesus. He did this so that nothing will ever separate me from Him. I know that no matter where I am or what road I am on, the love my dad and my Heavenly Father have for me will never change. It remains the same, constant and unyielding.

Daddy's Girl

Daddy's Girl

I was able to go back home for a visit in July and I found my dad just as I have always known him. He is still farming, still hunting, still building, still fishing, still working on cars (mine in particularly), still playing, still protecting, still loving, still encouraging, still praying, and still reading The Word. He is trying new things and new ventures, like taking a computer class – which would make you giggle if you knew the size of his fingers. While I was there, he went to Washington, D.C. with me where he had not been for enjoyment since he was teenager. We spent time at a car show together, looking at the antique cars and talking about way back when. Yes indeed, I am a daddy’s girl! I am proud to be a daddy’s girl and prouder still of my daddy.

Thank you Dad for giving me a tangible picture of who He is and what the Father’s love is like.

Lord, may I always be Your shadow and a reflection of who You are.

 There I was, ten years old. Waiting in my room for him to come home. And I just knew, he’d be so mad. Though I begged my mother not too, she told my dad. There was no denying I had let him down. But instead of being angry, he put his arms around me and said…

In the sunlight or the rain, brightest nights or darkest days, I’ll always feel the same way. Whatever road you may be on, know you’re never too far gone. My love is there wherever you may be. Just remember, that you’ll always be my baby.

There I was, twenty-one. I was so ashamed of what I’d done. On a country road, parked one night, what started out so innocent crossed the line. There was no denying I had let God down. But instead of being angry He threw his arms around me and said…

In the sunlight or the rain, brightest nights or darkest days, I’ll always feel the same way. Whatever road you may be on, know you’re never too far gone. My love is there wherever you may be. Just remember, that you’ll always be my baby.

There he is, my little man. I’m sure he’ll get in trouble every now and then. And I pray to God, that when he does, I’ll be just as understanding as my father was. Cause the last thing that I want to do is let him down. So instead of being angry, I’m gonna throw my arms around him and say…

In the sunlight or the rain, brightest nights or darkest days, I’ll always feel the same way. Whatever road you may be on, know you’re never too far gone. My love is there wherever you may be. Just remember, that you’ll always be my baby.

Artist: Sara Evans – Song: You’ll Always Be My Baby – Album: Real Fine Place – Songwriters: Sara Linn Schelske, Tony Martin, Tom Curtis Shapiro

Copyright by reflectionsbypj 2009/08/07

6 thoughts on “Daddy’s Girl

  1. You never cease to amaze me with your writing. I cannot wait to read your book. God has given you a special talent and I am so glad to see that you are using it. Love you!

Leave a Reply

