Nine Eleven

 

College Survival Kit

College Survival Kit

On such a day, we often pause to remember, reflect, and mourn such a tragic event that occurred in 2001, the day the twin towers stood no more. I remember I heard the news on the radio on my way to my 8th month OB check-up. It was so unbelievable that I had to pull over at the next place I came to that had a public television, a hotel. As I stood in the lobby watching the events take place, live, I was moved to tears and gasping in shock. This was a day where the first time in history that nationwide air traffic was halted. A day where America experienced a terrorist attack in three different states. A day where a state of emergency was declared in our nation’s capital. A day where we heard our president say, “These acts shattered steel but they cannot dent the steel of American resolve”. A day where 2,976 innocent people lost their lives. Yes, days to remember, reflect upon, and mourn… a tragic day indeed.

It is nice, at times, to be swept away from such painful memories. Today was a sweet reminder to me that people are still kind, are still good, are still caring, and are still loving…

The Coordinator for Non-Traditional Student Support (aka: Penny’s Emancipator) hosted a luncheon. It was a great time of making us feel welcomed and cared for, hence, supported. We had a time of fellowship and getting to know one another along with shoveling our mouths full of fabulous food. Near time for it to end, we were given a gift bag that was labeled ‘College Survival Kit’ and contained the following:

Tissues – for those tears of joy and/or frustration

Play Doh – to remind you to be flexible (or can be used as a plug for smart mouths)

Calendar – to keep your days organized (and help you remember what day it is)

Starbucks Card – for late night study sessions or for early classes

Lip Balm – keeping your lips soft for receiving kisses of encouragement

Power Bar – for a burst of energy (or a family meal during finals week)

Stress Ball – squeeze as needed (or throw randomly)

Hand Sanitizer – you are in college now and germs abound

To Do List – to help you remember all that needs to be done

Sports Schedule – for when you need to play or just need an excuse to yell

Pen & Highlighter – tools recommended on Dr. Gray’s top ten study skills tip list

Chocolate – JUST BECAUSE

Philippians 4 – “I can do ALL things through CHRIST who strengthens me.”

Commit to memory and repeat as needed

Today's Nine Eleven is a good day!

Today's Nine Eleven is a good day!

 “At first I was afraid, I was petrified. Kept thinking how would I live without you by my side. And there you are, from outer space. You bring chocolate, coffee and tissues for my face. It took all my strength, not to shout with glee, when you showed up with a power bar just for me. I will not crumble, I will not die, I’ve got sanitizer to keep me alive. I will survive! As long as I have you I know I’ll stay alive. I’ve got all my life to live, I’ve got all my brain to give, I will surive! I will not cry. I have a calender, a to do list, and most of all, a stress ball that can fly! I will survive!”

Copyrighted by reflectionsbypj 2009/09/11

3 thoughts on “Nine Eleven

  1. I’m sooooooooo glad that you are getting adjusted to college life and that everything is going so well. Keep up the good work and always remember, YOU CAN DO IT!!!! I’m really proud of you, Penny!

  2. LOVE the poem at the end. Hilarious! And what a great idea to give the survival bag. Very creative. I can see why you like her so much.

  3. i love it!! keep writing. you r inspiringme to look forward to the future. i haven’t had a chance to read but 2 of your entries, but i love them.

Leave a Reply

