I Cry

Contrary to expectations, perhaps, crying and depression do not seem to have much to do with one another. Nor do crying and premenstrual syndrome, apparently.

My personal history proves that crying is sadness and sadness is depression. This is not the case. I’ve learned that while I was depressed I cried because I was angry. But this is not about anger, this is about crying.

Over the past couple of years, I’ve noticed I cry less. People will share personal defeats in their lives, horrific experiences, and no tears fill my eye. Have I really become that cold-hearted? I get angry and hurt, and I refuse to cry, scared to go down a path that I’ve already walked.

But I do cry.

I cry when watching Extreme Home Makeover, not at the tragic story but at the end of the show when the bus is moved and the recipients display the dramatic displays of joy, overwhelming gratitude and disbelief. Or even when Susan Boyle sang for the entire world to hear for the very first time, yes I really did. I cry when a solider is reunited with his or her family. I cry when a friend or anyone accomplishes a goal, a dream, a mitzvoh, against all odds. I cry when something good is done for another. I cry when victories are won and when good overcomes evil. And on Easter morning I cried when people came to an alter asking God to make all things new.

All things new, that is why I cry. Jesus came as a fulfillment of the law. He came and there was a great reversal, a radical change – everything was turned upside down and made backwards – every valley shall be raised up and every mountain will be brought low. The last shall be first and the first shall be last. The rich will become poor and the poor shall become rich. (“You have heard it said, but I say…”) A shift has occurred, it is a new dawning.

“Weeping may endure for a night but joy comes in the morning!” Psalm 30:5

And so it is, I cry. He has taught me, shown me that through tragedy comes victory. Having that knowledge, being transformed in my mind, body, and soul, how can I not cry in the joy, in the triumph, of the everyday glory and goodness of the King.

“Freedom’s calling, chains are falling, hope is dawning bright and true. Day is breaking, night is quaking, God is making all things new.” ~ Travis Cottrell

Father, I ask that you make all things new for each person that reads this. May the captive be set free and the wounded be healed. May laughter and joy find them in their wake and in their sleep. May they know peace beyond all understanding. And may they come to know that their tears are watering the seeds of new growth. May they be transformed, living radically in reverse for you. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100408

3 thoughts on “I Cry

  1. There are so many things I could highlight in your words. I want to say, AMEN! Amen to the fact, tears are a blessing and not a curse. They are a language God understands and are often a beautiful way to celebrate what we know is coming, or has already come.

    “And may they come to know that their tears are watering the seeds of new growth.”

    Tears are a powerful fertilizer, a precious prayer language!

  2. AMEN, AMEN, and AMEN! I accept that blessing and thank you for it. The Bible also says something along the lines of God gathering all our tears in a bottle. Our tears are precious to Him. He is so good!

  3. A lot of people can put words down, but I think you have the special Gift of letting your heart flow through these words. Inspiring words, the prayer is powerful and should be put on the back of your card and shared. Blessings to you. Looking forward to your next inspiration. p.s. Kimberly, God must have one BIG bottle.

Leave a Reply

