Writing Timely Truth

In the past few weeks I’ve been asked by different people at different times, “How’s the book coming?”, “Does your editor have their copy of your book?”, and even, “Are you still writing?” While my blogs have been few and far between, while my editor remains empty handed as the book is still incomplete, I assure you I am writing.

My life is in the midst of a fire at the moment, a refining, defining type of fire – there is much to write about which means early mornings. In a nutshell, writing = sleep deprivation. Part of it is my perfectionism. A large part of it is my imperfections as a writer. Writing doesn’t come easy for me. Oh I love to write but conveying it in words so that others can make sense of it, well, that’s a whole other writing. I literally measure every word. I’ll spend an hour on a phrase. I’ll spend a day on a paragraph.

I don’t want to speak timeless truth. I want to speak timely truth. I want to say the right thing at the right time in the right way. And there are no shortcuts to that. I have to be up in the wee hours of the morning and try to listen to the still, small voice of the Spirit. There is no other way.

In my listening, a new book is in the making and has put “Faith, Hope, and Love Found Me” on the back burner at the moment. The current project’s title is being tweeted, daily (no, I’m not talking Twitter), and I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Interesting fact: Most of the parables are less than 250 words but if you hear them once you’ll remember them forever. Jesus was a genius. He could say more with truth with fewer words than anyone in human history!

Lord, may I always be speaking truth while learning to K.I.S.S. (keep it sweetly short).

Copyrighted by reflectionsbypj 20100414

Leave a Reply

