Do you trust me?

For some time I’ve been hearing God ask me, “Do you trust me?” And for some time I’ve been responding, “Yes, I trust you.”

My faith has never really been an issue for me, insomuch as, I believe that “nothing is impossible with God”. Having said that, it is a little one-on-one life application that need be applied.

Back-story: At the age of sixteen, I was called into the ministry. I of course had an image in my head of how this would unfold in my life and it was of course, “all-about-me”. With great excitement I planned and prepared for what I thought were my next steps. My life ended up down a path that I did not plan and then took several more paths off that path. Those paths led far from where I ever thought, dreamed, or could even imagine my life would go. But to say that I did not end up exactly where I am supposed to be, well that, in-and-of-itself, is an amazing paradox.

With the stirring rising within to go forward in my calling doubts, fear, insecurity, and lack of self-worth consume my mind for the past two years. Everything that I’ve known has been shaken. How could the bottom fall out when it fell years ago? But it did. How could God be leading me to my purpose when I feel I have no purpose?  But He is.

In February, perhaps March, I purchased the book, “Beautiful Things Happen When A Woman Trusts God” by Sheila Walsh. I have enjoyed previous books she has written, however it was her title this time that caught my eye. I picked it up, flipped it over, and read these words: “Do you ever question God’s ability to catch you when you fall? Do shame, fear, and brokenness keep you from fully trusting God? Do you secretly believe your dreams are unreachable? {You are not alone.}” [1] She had me (at hello).

It is now June and I’ve finally decided that it is time I learn to trust. Things are ever-changing around me and deeply stirring within me while I hear a constant whisper in my ear, “Do you trust me?” In reading, I’ve learned that the whisper in Shelia’s ear was, “Just follow me.” It is my hope that you follow me on this amazing journey as I seek to learn how to trust, getting real and raw, in order to see beautiful things happen.

[1] Walsh, Sheila. 1956. Beautiful things happen when a woman trusts God / Sheila Walsh. p.cm. ISBN 878-1-4002-0243-0

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100623

8 thoughts on “Do you trust me?

  1. Have you read my latest post yet? It appears that God is speaking with a general theme these days. 🙂 It also appears that we are greatly in need of increasing our trust. I wonder, how much trust will we need for what He’s calling us to do? My guess is, more than we can ever imagine… I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say about this new book!

  2. I am so excited to see where God leads you from here. I know the season is shifting from winter to spring for many of us. Thank you for allowing God to whisper hope to us all through your openness.

    Also, I appreciate you including the ISBN # for the book.

  3. I too have heard “Trust me” and “Follow me” in this season of my life. I am a grandmother and still wonder where the Lord is leading. I do know I love the Lord and desire to please HIM. I continue doing my best at following and trusting HIM.

    Thank you again for sharing, my friend!

  4. I’m so excited and hopeful of where God is leading and taking you. It’s great to see that you have the realization of what He’s doing in your life. No ‘victim mentality’ in Penny’s world! 🙂

    • I heard for so many years, “stop playing the victim”, sadly the person stating it just caused an anger to consume me. Thank you Lord for broken chains, redeeming love, and saving grace! I’m excited that you get to walk with me!

Leave a Reply

