I Am Ready

“Do not withhold your mercy from me, O Lord; may your love and truth always protect me.” Psalm 40:11

 

In my constant “Yes Lord, buuttt…” state, I’ve found myself extremely vulnerable this week. The letting go of old in order to receive that which is new is more than purging, more than release, it is getting my house in order. The ground upon which I stand feels as if it’s in the midst of an earthquake and leaves me reaching out and up, crying out, “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid…” Isaiah 12:2.

“Buuttt…” I am afraid. In spite of the confidence that is oozing out of me, by His spirit, my humanness is… and my soul cries out, “… The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid.” Hebrews 13:6

I know that God is speaking to me, I can feel Him all around me… it’s as if I can touch Him. I hear His voice, know His voice… “Trust Me.” And yet outside voices overwhelm me, as if I were in the middle of Times Square on New Year’s Eve. But over the noise, blowing above the voices, I hear Him ever so faintly say, “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” Matthew 14:27

As I look around my house and take note of yet another item that must go, I wonder what I’ll be left with but more than that, I wonder what I’ll forget to dispose of. My fear is not that I’ll be left with nothing but that I’ll overlook something and be left with no blessing. If I’m learning anything in this season I’m walking, it is that I must walk in obedience. In my obedience comes blessings… exceedingly abundantly more than I could ever hope or imagine… if I but just do as I am asked.

I am ready…

“Reaching into his bag and taking out a stone, he slung it and struck the Philistine on the forehead…” 1 Samuel 17:49

I am ready…

“Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus…” Matthew 12:30

I am ready…

“Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.” Psalm 43:3

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100730

“Oh,what I would do to have the kind of faith it takes to climb out of this boat I’m in onto the crashing waves. To step out of my comfort zone into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is, and he’s holding out his hand.

But the waves are calling out my name and they laugh at me reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed. The waves they keep on telling me time and time again, “Boy, you’ll never win, You you’ll never win!”

But the Voice of truth tells me a different story, the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!” and the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory” out of all the voices calling out to me I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth.

Oh, what I would do to have the kind of strength it takes to stand before a giant with just a sling and a stone. Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors shaking in their armor wishing they’d have had the strength to stand.

But the giant’s calling out my name and he laughs at me reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed.
The giant keeps on telling me time and time again, “Boy you’ll never win, you’ll never win.”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!” and the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory” out of all the voices calling out to me I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth.

But the stone was just the right size to put the giant on the ground and the waves they don’t seem so high from on top of them looking down. I will soar with the wings of eagles when I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus singing over me.

I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth… ‘Cause Jesus you are the Voice of truth and I will listen to you.. oh you are the Voice of truth.”

~ Casting Crowns

Leave a Reply

