Praying Prophet

 

"In God I Trust!" ~ Penny

“The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.” Psalm 119:130

As I was leaving my house the other morning, I turned to lock my door and noticed a Praying Mantis on my door post and it instantly excited me, though I was unsure why. As I came and went, several times throughout the day, I noticed that this Praying Mantis was still on my door post, though in a different location each time.

As I began to enter my house for the last time that day, I stopped to stare, while smiling, and felt a peace envelope me. Why? This creature, this insect, is considered to be in the roach family… ewwwww! But as I stood there starring, peace flooding my soul, I heard Him say to me, “Do you trust me? I’ll never leave you nor forsake you. I am with you always.”

What? Come on God, it’s an insect… from the roach family… You can’t be serious.  

A few days passed and I felt as if God were telling me… “You know when you were going to anoint the door post of your house a few weeks back and in your obedience it didn’t happen? This is me taking care of it for you.”

Okay Penny, what have you been smokin’ today?!?! “I certainly inhaled something today!” was my thought.

But the next day, again, the same thing so off I went to research and this is what I found…

The name “mantis” comes from the Greek word for ‘prophet’. They are named praying mantis because of the folding of their front legs, which looks like the posture of prayer. Some people mistakenly call them preying mantises, which is also somewhat accurate, given their skill as hunters. Mantises are exclusively predatory.

O Lord my God, indeed You speak in ways that are simple yet so often I try to make complex. Indeed I have heard You. Thank You Lord for the calling You’ve chosen me for. Thank You for Your simple reminders that ‘you’ve got me’. I will put my trust in You and rest assured in Your promises. You, O Lord, are so good to me. I will forever praise You, in all things. May all glory and honor and praise come from me to You so all will know that You are God. In Jesus’ name, amen.

Since May 2009, God has been readjusting things within me and around me and yet again in May 2010 He continues. There is a passion, a zeal, in spite of the earth quaking beneath my feet. In my life, I have been blessed. I have literally had the privilege of having Him show Himself to me and embrace me in a hug. He has healed my eyes, from bifocals for years to 20/25 vision. (I LOVE that He didn’t make it “perfect”!) He has saved me from death’s grasp on numerous occasions. He has chosen me. I have felt Him near me even when I wasn’t near Him. I have heard Him speak to me over the years, in ways that I will never forget and will gladly share, even if it makes no sense – like with this Praying Mantis. In the fall of 2003 He gave me Isaiah 54 (The Future Glory). In the winter of 2009 He gave me Isaiah 61 (The Year of the Lord’s Favor). While these may mean nothing to you, they mean everything to me. I know that I know that I know He is in pursuit of me, and I am in awe of His amazingly, unconditional, unyielding, love that He has for me. The least that I can do is say, “In God I will trust!” and then do so.

“Water You turned into wine; Open the eyes of the blind; There’s no one like You. None like You. Into the darkness You shine; Out of the ashes we rise; There’s no one like You. None like You. Our God is greater, our God is stronger; God You are higher than any other. Our God is Healer, awesome in power; Our God, Our God…
And if Our God is for us, then who could ever stop us? And if our God is with us, then what can stand against?”

 ~ Our God is Greater by Chris Tomlin

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100804

4 thoughts on “Praying Prophet

  1. He is awesome! This blessed my heart and made me cry. He is faithful even when we are not.

    I love ‘praying’ mantis too. They intrigue me. I have a couple of photos of them on my blog too.

    • How have I missed the praying mantis on your site? 😦 I must go check things out again… I’m sure I have a few days that I’ve missed. 🙂

      He is always faithful, even when we don’t see it or deserve it.

  2. This is beautiful, Penny. God DOES take care of us, especially when we get busy and things are hard. He understands us better than we understand ourselves and delights in blessing us. I’ve been amazed to see how He takes the little things and allows us to find Him in them.

Leave a Reply

