SITC Support

“There is the support you ask for, the support you don’t ask for, and the support that just shows up. In a friendship, you know which to be, at what time, and in all things.” ~ Pj

I was never a “Sex in the City” kind of gal however I must confess, as I am older, wiser (or so I’d like to think) and still very much single, I find comfort sitting through these tasteless, mindless movies; rolling  my eyes, laughing, gasping, blushing, and thankful for my own girl friends.

Today my 14-year-old (aka: High School Freshmen) got to hang with her girl friends for the very first time without adult supervision in downtown Franklin. To say that the air was buzzing with electrical charge would not begin to measure on the excitement scale.

We of course went over the do’s and don’ts and every ‘worse-case-scenario’ you could imagine, making sure that we’re prepared for all things, or I mean that she’s prepared for all things. I, on the other hand, am not prepared. I hugged her and told her that everything was going to be fine and that she was going to have a great time. To which she replied, “I know.”

In the long run, whether I’m over-protective or giving wings to soon, all I can do is pray that I’ve raised her well, in all areas of life, to know, to act, to respond, to think, to do, to be… and then call my girl-friends and ask if they want to go drive the streets so we can keep a watch in the distance.

I pray that as my daughter grows and matures, that she finds herself surrounded with life-long friends that she can have deep conversations with and mindless chitchat with all while offering support and love, just as I have been blessed with.

Near or far, you know who you are… Thank you for helping me set the example of what friendship is all about and being my Carrie, my Charlotte, my Miranda, and yes, even my Samantha. My life is very full because of you.

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100810

Leave a Reply

