Marching on Waves

 

Can you march on this?

 

[1] Pressing toward the Goal

12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.”

I sat in church Sunday morning and heard my pastor say these words. I heard a lot of words actually, as if the entire service was just for me. (spotlight on Pj) I heard another pastor tell of when Moses had to rely on his two friends to lift his arms. I also heard an interpretation given from the Lord stating to be free… to praise, be thankful, and be free.

My schedule for the next 21 days is beyond jammed packed, it is overwhelming, for example; Wednesday night through Sunday night I am working – I have to be at work as soon as the kids are off to school and then do not return home until well after their dinner. Tuesday not only am I working as, Chester the Cheetah, it is the first day of my sophomore year. Wednesday is school. Thursday I will be in KY, all day. Friday is wedding, in Lynchburg, Virginia. Then Saturday thru Monday night I will be in KY again. And so on and so on it goes. Of course, this doesn’t included keeping up with the kids’ schedules and activities, homework (all of us), church, and well, if you’re a mom, you get the picture.

As if the schedule weren’t hectic enough, I have until September 14, to have everything out of my house that has ties to anything from 2006 and back. I’m not just talking a few items; I’m talking about every item, from bed, to lights, to jewelry, to dishes, to pictures, to EVERY.THING.and.ANY.THING. Seriously, pick a year off top your head, then look around your house, recall if you had the item before that year, and then realize that it has to go. ‘Nuff said.

Now, add that to the fact that I’m in the process of changing my son’s diet to a gluten free diet, which means changing the family’s diet, in addition to other things, and I have no idea how to even read a label on the products. You laugh but I wish I were kidding.

Deep breathe…

I’ve also introduced running into my daily schedule, well, every-other-day at present. I promised a friend that I would run a half marathon with her next year (what was I thinking!) and thus must begin training. Let me just tell you now, my legs hurt and I feel like an old person every time I sit or stand. My toes feel like they are bleeding, constantly. Between the bad lungs, thanks to years of secretly smoking, and the fallen bladder making it necessary to invest into leakage protection, let’s just say I’m not really a fan of running.

All that to say this…

The other day I read in the scripture, “He marches on the waves of the sea.” I keep hearing it play repeatedly in my head, even catching myself saying it aloud…

“He marches on the waves of the sea.” [2]

That statement alone reflects the powerful, awesomeness of God. I know that in my season of obedience I am training, I’m preparing for battle. I know that after September 14 my life will never, ever, be the same again. I know that while He is preparing me, as a horse prepares for the day of battle, the victory is the Lords. [3] I have heard Him tell me that freedom is coming and to have those around me help me prepare. His day of turning from me has ended and favor is coming.

I have always loved that verse, particularly the part that states, “forgetting all that is past and looking forward to what lies ahead…” Who is to say what my race is or is not, for it is ever changing but for now, in this moment, I will press on to that which He has called me to do. For surely if He is for me than nothing could stop me… and if He is with me than nothing could stand against me… the victory is already His and nothing, no nothing could ever separate me from Him. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither my fears for today nor my worries for tomorrow – not even the powers of hell… no power in the sky above or in the earth below… nothing can pluck me from His hand, nothing can separate me from His love! [4]

For He marches on the waves of the seas and the victory is His.

So, in my feeling of being overwhelmed today, I am thankful. I am thankful for friends that support. I am thankful for pastors that not only lead but also truly hear the voice of the Lord. I am thankful for my children and their eagerness to want to walk in His ways, looking and searching for an answer. I am thankful for the many blessings, which are far too many to name, that He has given me. I will forever give thanks, saying that all the glory, honor, and praise is His, for I cannot walk on water, let alone march on the waves of the sea… only He.

Copyright by ReflectionsByPj 20100824

[1] http://biblegateway.com

[2] Job 9:8

[3] Proverbs 21:31

[4] Romans 8:38-39

Picture Image: http://surftherenow.com/2008/09/26/insane-wave-cornwall-uk/

10 thoughts on “Marching on Waves

  1. This is an AWESOME perspective Penny. I love you my friend and if there is ANYTHING Jan & I can do to help you, PLEASE let us know.

    • Randy, His awesomeness, His power amazes me. I am nothing more than dust, a fallen Adam (Eve), and yet He not only fights for me, He has defeated the enemy and given me victory. Perspective is really all about deciding whether or not today you’re putting down your rose colored glasses and standing on truth. I am so very thankful for you and Jan… I’ll be calling. I love you too my friend.

  2. Oh, Penney,
    Thank you for that verse. Actually thank God for that verse! There are so many things I need to forget from the past and press forward into God for all He has for me.

    Also, let us know if there is anything we can do. Come over to be with the kids or whatever!

    A fun fact, Jennifer means “white wave.” Hmmm:-)….

  3. Hi ! We have never met. I’m assuming I received this message of hope and truth through your friend Shannan. I’ve been going through some very heavy trials both literally and emotionally and as a result, spiritually. On my cell phone I’ve recently changed my wallpaper picture to a large wave. It represents my past few months and what looks like my future. Since the pic change I’ve read two sermons about waves of life.
    Penny, thankyou for this word!! Very timely. Very well written. I pray that God does bless you. I’m raising 4 kids as a single parent so I understand yr parenting struggles 🙂

    Thanks again!
    Neal

    • Neal,

      Wow, 4 children on your own… impressive. I raise my triple shot latte to you. 🙂
      I don’t know what you’re hearing or how you’re viewing the wave but it is a time of strengthening and cleansing. I encourage you to keep pressing forward in spite of the overwhelming feeling of being pulled under by the current, drowning, gasping for air… the ride tosses you to and fro, up and down, dragging you on the bottom of the sandy floor, leaving you with new scratches… REST WILL COME. He has you, He’s marching above you, but always right with you. Turn your face toward Him, in the highs and in the lows, and He will guide you, pull you through, rescue you, transform you!

  4. Thanks Penny for sharing…and reminding us that through life…all of the everyday stuff the highs and lows that nothing can pluck us from his hand…that nothing can separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus. He is faithful and always waiting on us….I too loved the words that came from God this past Sunday through the pastor…it was another reminder of his great love for us (and I do need to be reminded). Keep on keeping on…It’s worth it all! Have a good trip this weekend sister!

Leave a Reply

