Happy New Year

 

Are you capturing minutes or moments?

 

 “I cannot see before me, what lies in the New Year. But I do know this for certain, His Presence will be near!” ~ Rick Warren 

I read these words today, “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. When she speaks, her words are wise, and she gives instructions with kindness. She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness…. Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last, but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.” and thought this is the type of woman I want to be. Lord make me this woman. But the Lord doesn’t carry a magic wand like the fairy tales, or Tinkerbells’ fairy dust, nor does he crinkle his nose like Samantha, click his heels three times like Dorothy, or any other suggested Hollywood lie. No, if I want to be this woman I must put in the effort myself.

I could tell you all the things of how I can improve in these areas, for example: I could not yell at my children as if they were mindless idiots but rather with kindness and wisdom. I could not go to the grocery store clothed in mismatched apparel as if to hide, rather I could walk in my mismatched apparel with strength and dignity. (This then, would probably result in no mismatched apparel.) I could not laugh in order to hide my pain but instead laugh without fear. I could not be so stressed with the busyness of life that I don’t see when family members are turning to outside vices and instead carefully watch all in my household. I could not be on the computer, couch, or getting high on coffee in order to maintain an orderly household avoiding any suffering from laziness. Yes, I could tell you of all the ways in which I could improve myself but I already know where I need improvement, which is the first step.

Ellen Goodman once said, “We spend January 1, walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives, not looking for flaws, but for potential.” I concur! Why must I spend this night reflecting on how to better myself? This night, which is no different from any other night – each night ends a day and begins a new one – yet we pause in all breathlessness as if in this moment we can right all wrongs with resolutions, goals, and wishes yet twenty-one days later they have vanished… all because we focused on our flaws and the struggles they bring with them. Embrace the potential. Jesus came to save us, not condemn us. He offers us hope in His coming and in that hope there is potential for you and me.

Life is not measured in minutes. It’s measured in moments. It’s so important to take those moments captive. (2 Corinthians 10:5) We tend to remember what we should forget and forget what we should remember. It is the little habits that make us who we are. We don’t have to make massive changes quickly, we need only to make little changes and then stick with it for a long time. Habits are like compound interest when it comes to character.

I am a very future-oriented person as I stated in a previous blog, that being said, I am also very nostalgic. I love experiencing new things and going new places, but I also love tradition. I have the potential to create some wonderful family traditions and personal traditions, of which I plan to put in place this year. I hope that you’ll be around to share them with me.

While I walk away from 2010 and into 2011, I find freedom as He heals me from lies told to me. My past is over and with it my old habits die as I move forward into new habits. I surrender myself, hands opened, arms raised, stepping into the unknown as I follow Him. As I do this, I anticipate, with great expectation, a year of self-discovery, growth, and unforgettable moments.

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!”    Isaiah 43:18 & 19

Happy New Year to all my family and friends! Here’s to “Moving Forward” in 2011!

 

(If video tells you to watch on youtube, be sure to turn off your pop-up blocker and click on the underlined ‘youtube’ in the video. It is a song worth your time.)

To see previous New Year’s blogs click on either of the following:

https://pennyshire.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/resolutions-tick-tock/

https://pennyshire.wordpress.com/2009/12/31/lets-chat/

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. This is very true, Penny. I also like to take a few moments, when I find myself judging too harshly, to reflect on what I accomplished in the last year. It helps to balance out the frustration with what I have yet to accomplish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

