Charlie Chaplin and the Dodgers

Albert Einstein

As long as I can remember I’ve been told that I was born in the wrong time period. I love the music, the films, the style of the 1940’s. It was the decade of Casablanca, It’s A Wonderful Life, Meet Me in St. Louis, Alfred Hitchcock, and Disney favorites such as Dumbo, Pinocchio, and Bambi. Actors such as Humphrey Bogart, Cary Grant, and Clark Gable, along with Ava Gardner, Judy Garland, and Rita Hayworth were on the big screen. It was the decade of swing music and blue eyes himself, Frank Sinatra, along with Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald. Sports consisted of boxing and baseball – while the Dodgers were the popular team during that time, I’m a Braves girl – and I would rather watch and follow baseball over football any day of the week. It is the ‘All-American’ sport. And fashion, well it was classic and can still be pulled off today. Yes, I truly love the 1940’s.

A few months ago a man from Ireland claimed that he caught a time traveler on film in the 1928 film, The Circusby Charlie Chaplin. The Daily News did an article on the piece and have offered some possible suggestions however it appears that no one really has an answer for the mysterious time traveler. Of course, upon hearing this, my mind went to the movie, Kate and Leopold.

Kate and Leopold is a film that was released in 2001 starring Meg Ryan and Hugh Jackman. It is a romantic comedy that tells the story of a duke that travels through time from New York in 1876 to the present and falls in love with a career woman from modern New York. Or did she travel back to 1876 and fall in love with him? Either way, it has been in my movie collection since its release.

Of course, there are other great time travel movies, such as, Back to the Future (one, two, and three), The Time Traveler’s Wife, Peggy Sue Got Married, Somewhere in Time, and who could forget Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure. AND, for fear of being bashed for leaving the greatest one out, let us not forget Star Trek.

I don’t know if time travel exist, I tend to think not. But if I stepped outside of my box for a moment, perhaps, just maybe… nah, but it has certainly been fun watching all the different aspects and imaginations come to life on the big screen. I’m sure that if time travel could indeed occur, I would probably go to the 1940’s just because… though there are several things, places, and people that I would enjoy the experience of doing, seeing, and visiting if but for a fraction in time.

If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?

Leave a Reply

