Blogging

“I have been correcting the proofs of my poems. In the morning, after hard work, I took a comma out of one sentence…. In the afternoon I put it back again.” ~ Oscar Wilde

BLOGGING, the topic of tonight’s post.

I currently have eleven drafts in my blog ‘dashboard’ waiting to be finished, edited, and released for the world to read. I probably have a dozen more floating through my head. The fact that I am behind in my postings is no way any indication that I’m at a loss for words, I have plenty to say.

What I wish to do tonight is to briefly update you, perhaps clue you in, as to what is going on in the world of blogging that is so important for us as the blogger – feedback.  We need to know if you liked what we had to say or didn’t like what we had to say. You can let us know this information in various ways, for example, if you go to my site you will find an image of a thumb, two actually, one pointing up and one pointing down, which indicates a ‘like’ or ‘dislike’. We need you to click on one of those thumbs. We don’t know who clicked which thumb, we just want to know that someone actually liked or disliked what we had to say. Another way you can give us feedback is by actually leaving a comment on the blog. This option is usually off to the side of the title, located in the midst of the tags – either above the posting or below the posting – in addition to clicking on the title of the posting itself. This will take you away from the home page to the direct page of the posting you’re reading or reviewing. Once you’re directly on the page specific for that posting, you are able to either leave a comment or click the ‘like’ button option directly above the location for comments. This is NOT the same as the thumbs up or down.

While you’re on the bloggers page, take the time to subscribe to their blog. This too can be done two different ways. You can first click on the option that reads, subscribe to this blog – sign me up – email subscription – all of which will result in the posting being sent directly to your email. OR, you can subscribe to the bloggers RSS Feed, which sends it to your toolbar feed and can be found under your favorites/feed.

We NEED this from our followers, fans, and friends. If we are taking the time to remove a comma in the morning only to return the comma to its same origin by afternoon, we want to know that you’re enjoying our efforts. 🙂

IN ADDITION, by all means, if you like a post, share it with others. Attach the link, by copy and pasting, to Facebook, Twitter, email, and any other way you’re able. People usually like something, purchase something, do something, based on another’s influence – word of mouth, the quickest way for a wild fire to spread. (~Pj)

Now that you have the 4-1-1, allow me to share that there will be a test coming. Soon, very soon, I will be offering a way for you, the reader, to win free autographed books. In order to win them, you will do much of what was suggested. There will be more details to come – soon. In the mean time, you might as well get started, why put off until tomorrow what you can do today. 🙂

I hope this helps you feel more at ease about taking a step toward  helping me. I could not do this without you, you are treasured and appreciated. THANK YOU!

“Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” ~ E. L. Doctorow,

4 thoughts on “Blogging

  1. You took the words right out of my mouth! I was thinking of writing a similar blog. I know it’s taken myself, a blogger, some time to understand WordPress and how it all works, so this posting is valuable to all writers and readers.

    So, READERS, we need and want to know what you are thinking. Your opinion matters to us, and your support is valuable for us to keep up with the world of writing.

    ~Shannan Parke

  2. Thank you for the reminder. When I read your blog and others, they are thought provoking for me and I am slow to process things and they usually hit me long after I have read them. So please forgive people like me who are very slow (or don’t at all) to comment — it doesn’t mean we are not impacted.

    • I do the same thing, often. It’s rare for me to be so quick on my feet with words so I often step away, think about it, and come back – though it’s that coming back that I’m guilty of forgetting. 🙂

      AND you need no forgiveness, non-committing is not a sin – we bloggers are just egotistical and believe we are the center of the universe – that makes us the one needing to ask forgiveness, often. 🙂

      THANK YOU for commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

