Five Loaves and Two Fishes

Little Is Much When God Is In It
1. In the harvest field now ripened
There’s a work for all to do;
Hark! the voice of God is calling
To the harvest calling you.
 
2. In the mad rush of the broad way,
In the hurry and the strife,
Tell of Jesus’ love and mercy,
Give to them the Word of Life.
 
3. Does the place you’re called to labor
Seem too small and little known?
It is great if God is in it,
And He’ll not forget His own.
 
4. Are you laid aside from service,
Body worn from toil and care?
You can still be in the battle,
In the sacred place of prayer.
 
5. When the conflict here is ended
And our race on earth is run,
He will say, if we are faithful,
“Welcome home, My child well done!”
 
Chorus:
Little is much when God is in it!
Labor not for wealth or fame.
There’s a crown and you can win it,
If you go in Jesus’ Name.
 
Lyrics and Music by Kittie Louise Suffield (b.1884-d.1972) in 1924

 

As I listened to my Pastor speak this morning, I wondered, based on the stories he shared of others, if I will be remembered as firmly planted. (Psalm 15) I thought about the importance of leaving a legacy such as his grandmothers and found myself sad, as I didn’t have such a legacy handed down to me, which means my family legacy begins with me. I hope one day that my children, their children, and their children’s children will see me having stood firmly in my life. I pray that in that standing it is not seen negatively rather something to be proud of, positive and concrete.

I believe I was chosen for ministry but really, aren’t we all who profess to be who we say we are in Christ. We each have our own God given talent and when used accordingly, as it was meant, indeed then find ourselves in the ministry. Our talents are different from that of others, not even the same as our parents; the Master’s hands have uniquely designed each of us.

What I realized today though is that what I think, dream, or believe even my ministry to be, my first line of ministry is to my family. We can easily be caught up in the fact that God has called us to do something or be something but if we are not first that to our families than we cannot be anything to others. My ministry will carry on through my family via my legacy and them alone.

When growing up we would sing the song above and I would cry as my soul burned within to reach the harvest field. Wanting Him to use me, going wherever He may lead me, telling Him, “Here I am Lord, send me!” He doesn’t always send us where we think He will nor use us in ways we imagined He would. It’s often been said, “You must prove yourself responsible with the small stuff before you can be entrusted with the big stuff.”

My harvest field is my family and though it seems a little field, it is much because God is in it.

If God can use Gideon’s army, once 32,000 now only 300, to win a battle… If God can use David, with only a slingshot and a stone, to take down a giant and scare off an army… If God can take a little boy’s lunch consisting only of 5 loaves of bread and 2 fishes to feed 5,ooo… If God can use a single mom of 2 to hand down a legacy of love and mercy, reflecting a life that faithfully stood firm in God’s grace and love, then He has certainly made much out of something so little… and to that I say, “Here I am God, send me!”  

3 thoughts on “Five Loaves and Two Fishes

  1. Very good. Thank you, P.J. The home is indeed the ‘domestic’ church. And Psalm 15 was in our Mass readings on Ash Wednesday. I’m a grandmother now, and i know i must do better at sharing and passing on the precious gift of faith with my grandsons (twins 20 mos. old) than i did with our own sons. Lord Jesus, i trust in You! God bless you. You have a beautiful blog! 🙂

    • What I love in your response is, “… I must do better… ” I love when God opens our eyes to past experiences and provides us opportunity to learn, to grow, to share, and to live. I believe there mere acknowledgement and longing to do, well that indeed is the first step in building legacy. I will trust in Him with you! Thank you for your sweet words – I am overwhelmingly humbled. May He always be your vision.

Leave a Reply

