Living Stuck Sucked

There comes a point in life where you choose to stay stuck in the past or move forward – crossroad. But, what if the crossroad was between your future and present, you cannot be stuck in your future, it has not happened yet, could you? 

“Worrying about your future paralyzes your present.” ~ Pj

 

We worry about a lot of things in life; family, job, weight/appearance, money, cars, food/shelter/clothing, death, security (on all levels), everyday spending, paying bills, impressing others, politics, traffic – on and on we go. Within reason, all are legitimate worries considering we are to learn from our past, plan for our future, and live in our present.

The other day I read the following by Elizabeth Cheney based off Matthew 6:26,

Said the robin to the sparrow, “I should really like to know why these anxious human beings rush about and worry so.” Said the sparrow to the robin, “Friend, I think that it must be that they have no Heavenly Father, such as cares for you and me.”

The next verse is what really got me thinking, it reads, “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (Matt. 6:27) Did you know the word worry means, anxiety, care, that which divides, distracts the mind and which draws a troubled person’s mind in different directions? I have been so consumed with future pieces of my life, pieces that I do not yet hold in my possession, that the hours of my life, not that I have any to spare, I have allowed to be robbed from me.

Sometimes we focus on the promises and hopes of our future, pieces to a puzzle that we do not yet hold, and find ourselves sucked into worry, leaving us paralyzed in the present. We are so consumed with what will be that what is now will become a missing piece to our puzzle in the future. We are so anxious about our future we find ourselves indecisive. All of the things going on in our mind jams our systems and lead us to destruction, thus changing the future in which we have just attempted to put together without all the pieces – never-ending circle.

Avoid being stuck in your past and sucked into your future, God just wants us to trust him enough to live – today. Job 23:10-11 says, “But he knows the way that I take, when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold. My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside.”

The value of you requires you to be present. ~ Pj

Are you living in your today? Are you stuck in your past? Are you being sucked into your future? What are you telling others you are worth? Share your story by leaving a comment below.

Note: Where is the ‘Holy Spirit’ in the above picture?
6 thoughts on “Living Stuck Sucked

  1. What a GREAT reminder, Penny. I want so badly to enjoy the moments as they come and not get so concerned about the future that it sucks away the joy that can be found in today. Lord, help us both!

  2. Love the quote “Worrying about your future paralyzes your present.” It is so true. I have to remind myself daily of the passage in Matt.6:25-34, although it is challenging.
    I found your blog a month ago (through a series of other blogs) and I really enjoy reading your thoughts.
    Take care!
    Tracy-Canada

Leave a Reply

