April Fool’s

“I hope you will put up with me in a little foolishness. Yes, please put up with me!” ~ 2 Corinthians 11:1

     “I have made a fool of myself, but you drove me to it.” ~ 2 Corinthians 12:11a

Today I had a little fun with April Fool’s.  I have learned over the years that not everyone is a fan of this day and the pranks played. We have those, like myself, that are just gullible which in turn makes them look bad. Then we have the Christianise who feel playing pranks are lying and a horrible disgrace to their morals and is like walking down a one-way road to hell. Wherever you fall on the scale of extreme hatred or delirious pleasure for this day, it is upon us every year, no matter our feelings.

My crimes [or sins] of the day were all committed on the infamous social network via the WWW. Such things consisted of saying I had a broken leg and that my daughter was pregnant. However, in my defense, I followed my daughter’s lead on this one. I then changed my single status to engaged. And the last offense, but certainly not the least, was changing my birthday to today’s date.

While I must admit that I was laughing hysterically, most of the day, I was quite disturbed at times, too. For example, 90% of the comments left on my engaged status knew it was a prank. However, my question is, HOW did they know it was a prank? Is it really that hard to think that I could be engaged? 🙂

The birthday change I felt was risky as my birthday had just been one month prior however I decided to see what would happen. I was not disappointed. However, I was again disturbed at times… there were those that wished me happy birthday after having been at my party one month ago. REALLY? While I found it funny, too, something wasn’t quite right with that picture – I’m just sayin’.

Now that day is done I do, however, feel the need to apologize to those that didn’t get my pranks, taking my changes to heart, and to those, too, that were offended by my pranks condemning me to hell. I read a blog today which explained how I should apologize. While I’m unsure of how severe my offenses may be, this is my sincerest attempt to make-a-mends. I have made a few phone calls, had a few face-to-face, and am now pleading for grace via written words.

I’m sure next year, I’ll find myself reposting an edited version of this post. 

FYI, a friend reminded me that a couple of years ago, on MySpace, I listed my status as “I’m pregnant” and listed my mood as “virginal” – yes, please put up with me! 🙂

7 thoughts on “April Fool’s

  1. I hope you don’t conform to the “stuffy peoples opinion polls” and remain the individual full of life and pranks that God made you. You may offend a few along the way but the blessings of laughter and friendship will overtake those few instances. Most people live and die as copies, you are one of the originals, “just sayin”.
    I have been off facebook for several days so I missed it but I would have been enjoying the laugh. Blessings to an original.

  2. I have to admit, I was a little confused. I thought your birthday had come & gone but finally yielded it to my “forgetfulness” due to getting older. So, I wanted to bless you. Your little pranks did not offend me. I need to learn to trust myself. Love ya, my friend! =)

Leave a Reply

