I’m Married!

May 8, 2011

Today I got married. I skipped right over the engagement and just jumped in…

I never thought I’d see rings reflecting marriage on my finger again. I’ve not really had any desire to have them there… that is, until now.

Since I began my new job I’ve had old men crawling out of the woodwork like a kitchen infested with roaches. It’s not the mere fact the men are old, I’m okay with taking a compliment while being polite, it is the fact that it crosses all boundaries of personal space – stalking and grabbing. Sadly, this has ruined the view of how I refer to my kitchen – nice, warm, and comforting.

I wish I were joking when I tell you I’ve been grabbed, propositioned, shoulders embraced, shaken, and then pushed to a table, and I’ve found them in the parking lot waiting on me. I’m thinking it is a good thing I took a self-defense class two semesters ago, though I had never imagined breaking an old man’s nose but have since discovered I’m willing to give it a try, and am okay with all that encompasses. 

In hopes to end my agony, the literal dread of going into work every weekend and dealing with these grown men that have somehow reverted into today’s “acceptable” boyish teenager, ignoring all manner in which they were brought up and brought their own children up, I placed a wedding set on my finger.

To my dismay, Gandhi sat down in my section, along with his father, and I began to have regrets… but that’s a story for another day.

So, here’s to being married… and to Kohl’s for their amazing $7 deal!

2 thoughts on “I’m Married!

  1. My friend, I am grieved with the thought of what you are having to put up with. This has to be very stressful on you. My prayer is for Abba, Father, to intervene in your situation and shield you from these attacks. You are a daughter of the King of kings and you should be treated with respect. I know we live in a fallen world and we have to walk through some things but I so want the Lord to move on your behalf. Praying!

Leave a Reply

