The Secret’s in the Sauce

“Rise to the fullness of your gifts, with no pressure to perform.” ~ Pj

If you’ve never seen the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” then you’re missing a sweet treat. Evelyn Couch is having trouble in her marriage, and no one seems to take her seriously. While in a nursing home visiting relatives, she meets Ninny Threadgoode, an outgoing old woman, who tells her the story of Idgie Threadgoode, a young woman in 1920’s Alabama. Through Idgie’s inspiring life, Evelyn learns to be more assertive and builds a lasting friendship of her own with Ninny. The tagline of the movie: The secret of life? The secret’s in the sauce. This comes to be, of course, because not only is the café in the movie known for its bar-b-q sauce but for the murdered man that is presumably the meat in the sauce that the detective is so thoroughly enjoying. Thus, the secrets in the sauce.

People tend to glorify others, placing them on pedestals, making them idols, and even an item on their to-do-list…

Hair done like Tina Turner, check.

Hit a golf ball like Tiger Woods, check.

Cook like Giada De Laurentiis, check.

Preach like Billy Graham, check.

I realize that these are all names that most people know however, put the name of your friend, church member, co-worker, and any other immediate person in your life in their place… now tell me,

where does the list end and you begin?

I do not believe that I can be anything that I want to be. As much as I want to be a singer and tour the world as a rock star, it will never happen. As much as I’d love to look (be) Audrey Hepburn, it will never happen. We teach our children that they can do or be anything that they want to be and that is a lie. We tell them that because someone else does something that they, too, can do it.

Why do we do this?

Because we believe it ourselves. It is on every infomercial late night could possible throw at us – you, too, can have this… do this… lose this… look like this… be this…” Really?

Don’t get me wrong, there are those that should inspire us, challenge us, motivate us – in our own gifting. When we look at our children, what are the special abilities they have within, the God given gifts that should be nurtured in order to bring forth good fruit. What is your own God given gifts that perhaps should be added to your to-do-list?

Scripture tells us that He knew us before we were conceived, He then formed us, and He has a future already planned for us. The God of yesterday walks with you today and holds your tomorrow.

I’ve been asked what I plan on doing with the two degrees I will have obtained once I graduate college. I use to answer, “Be the next Joyce Myers.” It then changed to, “Be the next Beth Moore.” Each snowflake is unique. Do I really believe that I am to be the same as another? If God takes the time to design each snowflake individually, than who am I to expect any less in His creation of me… you? I should rise to the fullness of the gifts He’s given me, with no pressure to perform.  In other words,

the only secret in the sauce is, me (you).

Paul tells us that we are to edify one another, to lift each other up, to encourage one another – if we cannot do that, we need not open our mouths.

If you state you can do something simply because another person has done something, then not only are you stealing from that person’s gifting, you are robbing yourself blind of your own uniqueness. You are telling God that His creation, His plan, is no good.

Ask yourself:

1)      Am I insecure?  

2)      Am I fearful of what others think of me?

3)      Am I embracing the idea of being liked and accepted?

4)      Am I deceiving myself, forfeiting my freedom, and entertaining others ideas of who I am?

5)      Do I know who I am?

God’s plan stands forever, there is no plan B.

 

Scripture reference: Romans 14:19; 1 Thessalonians 5:11; James 4:1-3; Jeremiah 29:11; Psalm 139; Hebrews 13:8

4 thoughts on “The Secret’s in the Sauce

  1. Thank you, Penny! This is just what I needed today — you have summed up what our entire CLCS program is about. Thank you, glad to have you back! I have missed your writing.

  2. I love this – AND the photo of the cat! (when we try to copy others, we just end up looking like we are but with crazy accessories!) I thought at first maybe you were trying to show me pictures of a tiara for wedding-day consideration! Ha! What a wonderful way to explain the importance of being ourselves. I believe you could make this into a presentation and share it all over the place.

Leave a Reply

