DWT at Grocery

There are several conversations around my house that make me giggle, none more so than when my 9-year-old begins the conversation with, “Back when I was a kid…” or “you know, when I was kid…”

Well, back when I was kid…

We didn’t have cell phones. I would had given anything to have a cell phone the night I was in my car accident, 45 minutes from home, in the pouring rain, bleeding from implanted glass… I cannot imagine being a mother then, having your child out – driving on her own or in a car with friends – and no way to contact them. Just thinking about it now makes my tummy flip.

Yes, the cellular phone has brought many conveniences and luxuries. In addition, it has brought with it many dangers and once again, leaves my tummy flipping as my 15-year-old is just now getting behind the wheel.

I am guilty of texting while driving. I realized its dangers but passed them off as, nothing will happen to me. Then I watched a video on awareness of this ever so deathly trend and I got better. Better meaning, I didn’t text while driving anymore – only while sitting at red lights.

One day, while texting at a red light, there sitting next to me was my 15-year-old, watching me. She didn’t say anything, she just smirked and raised an eyebrow, and then turned away. It was scary, like I was looking in a mirror. Scarier still, was what I was teaching my daughter in that moment – and, what she was teaching me. “Do as I say not as I do” somehow doesn’t really lead by example.

Kid crashes at local grocery due to DWT

The facts:

1) People die while texting and driving. In 2008, over 5000 people were killed and over 500,000 were wounded due to texting while driving accidents.

2) Texting and driving is now the number one road killer, surpassing drunk drivers.

3) 70% of kids admit to texting while driving. (They learn by example.)

IF YOU ARE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT AND TEXT, UNLESS YOUR CAR IS IN PARK, YOU ARE STILL TEXTING WHILE DRIVING.

Currently there is no national ban on texting or using a wireless phone while driving, but a number of states have passed laws banning texting or wireless phones or requiring hands-free use of wireless phones while driving. For more information on state laws, visitwww.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/cellphone_laws.html.

References: Romans 13: 1-5, 1 Peter 2:13,14, http://www.fcc.gov/guides/texting-while-driving, http://texting-while-driving.org/

One thought on “DWT at Grocery

Leave a Reply

