Amazing Significance

Amazing Significance

I was asked today how this semester differs from those in the past and my answer…

“I know the routine, have a system, and found my balance.”

Of course, it only took 5 semesters out of 8 to get there. I wonder if it is typical for students to reach this point of balance at this time or is it just me… I really don’t know. What I do know is that I will never return to the craziness of the following…

The spring semester of my sophomore year, I was asked by two ladies in the MHR program if I would be their “project” for class to which I agreed. I was asked to make a video of my life, a type of “days-in-the-life-of-Penny”. At the end of that semester and on into my next, I would become ill – after doctors appointments with much blood work, ER visits, and orthopedic visits I learned that I have Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Degenerative Joint Disease, a twisted pelvic, two bulging disc, and am covered in bone spurs in just about every joint. To say the least, there is not a day that passes that I am not in pain but I’m learning to manage [without drugs] and am making improvements, daily.

Those two ladies wrote about, spoke about, and shared my life with a group of graduate students. I was supposed to be at their presentation but instead, found myself at home, sick. When the video was shown to the class, the ladies informed me that someone in the class mentioned, “She is going to end up ill.” Little did they know… little did I know.

When I look at this video now [see below] I think “how stupid!” My life was like that for 5 semesters. It took God putting me flat on my back to discover my balance. Some folks did not like the changes I made and others have yet to really notice, or care. Either way, it doesn’t matter. What matters is my willingness to change… even if flat on my back.

If we move through life too fast and fail to slow down, we can miss out on what God has for us. The danger of not slowing down is the result of life becoming insignificant. If we relinquish control, which is the driving force of moving forward – only in our mind, committing our lives and everything within our life to the Lord, He establishes our plans. (Proverbs 16:3) When we allow Him to establish our plans we discover…

We are pretty amazing!

6 thoughts on “Amazing Significance

  1. Here’s me clicking on the “LOVE” button! Have I told you lately that you are my hero? You are, and you are amazing! I am rich because you are my friend. I’m so proud of you!

    “JOY” it is this season!

  2. Every time I hear that song, I think of you, Penny. So grateful that you were willing to be the focus of our “project” and even more grateful that you have made some changes in your life that led to more balance and health.

Leave a Reply

